No. 99 Pale Ale

Brewery: Wayne Gretzky Craft Brewing

Type: Pale Ale

ABV: 5%

Ingredients: Water, malted barley, hops yeast

Thoughts: This one had a huge, hyperactive head when I poured it in. I had to wait several times, and even had to take a few sips before being able to fully empty the can. The foam was a good looking texture, though, with varying bubble sizes. Actually, the bubbles all started out smaller, then began to grow at different rates as it settled and the carbonation filtered up and through.

As the can suggests, the aroma is quite citrusy. It has a tangy grain base that you can only smell when you put your nose directly into the foam.

Nice colour as well. A touch darker than apple juice, I’d say, with a clear body and no sediment indicating that’s it’s been filtered.

This is a refreshing beer! The sun is shining through our kitchen windows and is making it feel quite hot. If I close my eyes, it’s summer! It has a nice clean, palatable taste that actually reminds me of a hockey beer. I know I’m probably being influenced by the fact that it has Wayne Gretzky’s name on it but I can picture myself sitting in the stands at a game surrounded by roaring fans. The beer that is actually coming to mind is a Creemore Springs, back before they became big timers. There’s a creaminess to this one that’s comforting.

The exhale is very biased towards the grains. It’s a bright grain, too, but still grounds itself with that earthiness. I can also sense a bit of perfume hop essence in the after taste as well. It’s faint to be sure but it’s there however briefly.

As the beer warms I’m picking up a bit of bitterness in the aftertaste. It is becoming a touch more prominent the more I drink so I’m not a huge fan of that. But, I was able to finish the beer with ease.

Leave a comment