Canada 150

4.5

Brewery: Black Creek Historic Brewery

Type: Bitter Ale

ABV: 5%

Thoughts: Beautiful copper colour with almost no head. That was quite surprising to me and feared there was something wrong with it but upon taking in its aroma, I was quickly convinced that it could be overlooked. It smelled like a really good, creamy English ale with hints of raisin and caramelized malts.

Taste is delicious! It actually reminds me a lot of the Trappist Rochefort. Dark cherry and banana notes with a raisiny caramelized malt base. The carbonation is low, as expected, and the end of the sip has a very interesting bitter characteristic. It’s not harsh nor is it in any way similar to hop bitterness. It reminds me of a glass of rum with bitters in it.

All in all, a very interesting and delicious beer. Definitely a re-buy for me and definitely recommended.

Edit: I just read a bunch of really terrible reviews on ratebeer.com. I’m very surprised. It doesn’t affect what I think about it but is disappointing nevertheless. That being said, it’s only been out for a couple weeks so perhaps there’s time yet.

Leave a Reply

