Revenge of the Ginger, Kickin’ Ginger Red IPA

2.5

Brewery: Double Trouble Brewing Co.

Type: Flavoured Red IPA

ABV: 6.2%

Thoughts: I’m not sure why I got this beer… It’s can is obnoxiously loud and perhaps slightly offensive to our crimson haired companions. It also has flavouring added, which I’m never in favour of – but, to their defence, I didn’t read the can before buying it so here we go.

Firstly, it has a decent appearance with a big wet looking foamy head that leaves good lacing on the glass. There’s visible sediment floating throughout the cider orange coloured liquid. On the nose, ginger with mild hops and a cereal grain underneath.

Taste-wise I’m getting a classic IPA floral hop flavour, clean and crisp, mixed with decently roasted malt. The ginger is more subtle than I was expecting but it is there. I mean, it’s actually not terrible. My biggest qualm with it is that the experience doesn’t at all align with the message portrayed on the can. It’s not loud or offensive or vengeful or kickin’. It’s just a middle of the road IPA with subtle ginger. I see no reason to get another.

Leave a Reply

