Le Coeur Noir

on

4

Brewery: Beau’s Brewing Co.

Type: American Black Ale

ABV: 7.1%

IBU: 60

Thoughts: Gorgeously thick creamy head sticks around forever leaves the glass a mess.  Pitch black.  Striking beer.  Nice label too.  They have a great graphic designer.  Very pretty thing.  It’s interesting I didn’t expect it but it’s a hop forward smell (I didn’t see that it was IBU 60 until afterwards).  It’s jumpy- excited.  Emily says she smells grapefruit. That may be it.  The mouthfeel is excellent.  Smooth and dignified but complex.  It’s got cocoa and liquorice.  I have no idea what I am drinking with dark beer- I should research how they make it because I am completely (pardon the pun) in the dark.  But this is a seductive and fine beer- perhaps a new special occasion beer as it is quite expensive.  I’ve never had a better dark beer.

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. scottdavey says:

    Woah….. that last line has got me intrigued. I’ve only had one Black IPA and it was horrendous: https://fermentedliquorlog.wordpress.com/2016/06/24/collective-project-black-ipa/

    So, I’m willing to try another – this will be it. I’m not ready to (excuse the pun) black list this type yet.

    Like

  2. Mike says:

    Hahaha. Apparently it is out of production, so if you see one, jump on it. I would love to know your thoughts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

