Bonfire Black Lager

3.5

Brewery: Perth Brewery

Type: Dark Lager

ABV: 5%

IBU: 20

Appearance / Aroma: Aroma is sweet and grainy with hint of apple. The colour is similar to a black coffee, dark brown and slightly translucent. The head is fluffy and big. Not so dense but it sticks around. Decent lacing.

Taste  / Feel: I’m conflicted on this one because the first time I had it, it was fantastic. It had really great cereal grain elements with a touch of warming dark and roasted malt.

Now, while it still has a few of those qualities, I’m finding it to be more bitter and less flavourful. I’ve let the beer warm and a lot of the bitterness has gone and it tastes more like what I was expecting. Still not exactly the same, but closer. I just remember thinking that I needed to review it because it was so good. Now I’m just thinking it’s slightly above average.

Leave a Reply

