Fire in the Rye

4

Brewery: Double Trouble Brewing Co.

Type: Rye Pale Ale

ABV: 6.1%

IBU: 60

Appearance / Aroma: Aggressive poor left a rather large, fluffy head. The nose is sweet with a strong, grainy base and floral hop towards the front. The color is a frosty burnt orange – quite mesmerizing.

Taste / Feel: Since there was a lot of head, that’s all I could get on my first sip. It’s packed with flavor, mostly a hop bitterness, but it’s creamy. There’s a slightly metallic taste in there as well.

The beer itself, when I finally got there, is clean and crisp, with a light body. The graininess is in there but not so much in the taste, rather acting as a neutral base for the intense hop flavor. I also just read on the can that this beer weighs in at a solid 60 IBUs, which explains the prominent bitterness throughout the entire mouthful and well into the aftertaste.

Overall, it’s a good beer. With the IBU and 6.1% ABV, it’s a bold beer with lots of flavor, and I appreciate that. I also enjoy the variety that the rye brings. in a way, it seems to almost take on a hop-like characteristic. I’m not sure if I’ll get it again, simply because it’s quite bitter, but I believe it was made well.

It may also be worth mentioning that it’s an unfiltered beer. Once reaching the end of the glass, I came face-to-face with clumps of yeast residue. It didn’t affect the texture at all, but threw me off initially. That being said, I’m OK with unfiltered beer  – makes me believe they sacrificed floaty bits for taste, which, again, I appreciate.

Leave a Reply

