Skinny Dippin’ Stout

3.5

Brewery: Sawdust City Brewing Co.

Type: Stout

ABV: 5.5%

IBU: 35

Appearance / Aroma: Smells of dark raisin and cherries with a buttery chocolate coloured head – dense and fluffy looking.

The beer is a dark coffee brown and slightly translucent. Not much light coming in.

Taste / Feel: This beer boasts 7 different type of malts however I don’t actually recall any sort of complexity. I don’t mean that in a bad way, I suppose. Perhaps all the malts are meant to come together to create a singular, cohesive flavor.

From my perspective, I get 2 flavors fairly strongly: sweet chocolate and smokey char. There is definitely a creamy grain underneath it all, almost silently supporting, as well, however the smokiness begins to take over as the aftertaste kicks in. There’s also the threat of bitterness lurking in there if you stop drinking for too long.

Overall, it’s decent. It has a medium body with good carbonation. I’d have it again because I enjoy bold flavours, with the smokiness, but I feel like it’s dependent on my mood.

Leave a Reply

