Fireside ESB

4

(4.3)

Brewery: The Collingwood Brewery

Type: Extra Special Bitter (ESB)

ABV: 5.8%

IBU: 40

Appearance / Aroma: A cloudy toffee and amber color with a nice looking, slightly off-white, fluffy head. There is a definite hop aroma with an undertone of caramel malt.

Taste / Feel: When I saw this beer I was wary simply because its name actually has the word bitter in it. When I was in Australia, one of the more popular beers at the time was called Victoria Bitter. Although I didn’t try it, I heard it was quite bitter – but once you learn about Vegemite, and how much Aussie’s enjoy it, it’s not hard to believe that they’d prefer a really bitter beer.

Edit: I just read up on Victoria Bitter and apparently it’s pretty bad. Comparable to any “overwhelmingly awful mass-produced lager”, as one consumer on beeradvocate.com put it. So, I guess it has no taste and, therefore, probably doesn’t have the bitterness I had previously been told.

However, I got it anyway because life is too short to drink one style of beer. It’s sweet with an excellent combination of malts and hops. A cross between an English ale, grainy malt with hints of raisin and dark fruit, and an IPA, floral hops, but with little bitterness.Whatever bitterness there is comes towards the end in the aftertaste, but it’s subtle. There’s also a faint malt flavor coming back with the exhale.

There’s medium to low carbonation with a creamy texture that thinly coats the mouth.

Overall, great flavors here. I love it!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Mike says:

    Whoa this is a surprise! I did not expect a 4.3 from an ESB! (especially from mr. chocolate porter!)
    It’s been a while since I tried one. The only one I’ve tried is Fuller’s ESB.
    Cool!

    Like

    1. scottdavey says:

      Haha Mr. Chocolate Porter. That’s my rich industrialist name – I own a nation-wide railroad. And I transport only cocoa beans.

      ANYHOOT. Ya, I was so surprised! A very pleasant drink, indeed.

      Like

Leave a Reply

