Ambear Ale

3.5

Brewery: Cameron’s Brewing (Oakville, Ontario)

Type: Amber Ale

ABV: 5.0%

IBU: Unknown

Appearance / Aroma:  An enticing deep reddish brown color and capped by a fluffy cream colored head.  Absolutely beautiful looking.  Really.  Really nice to look at.  Lots of lacing.

Taste / Feel:  Classic caramel malt red ale flavour with a tiny bit of smokey but balanced campfire feel it it.  The hops don’t really do too much… maybe they could have.  What I am about to say is true with most beers, but is more important with this beer than many others so i’ll still say it.  If I critique the technical ability of this beer I will find that there’s ways that they could have made it better: it’s a bit metallic, a bit flat, a bit of a few things.  But after I stopped ‘reviewing’ the beer, I enjoyed it a lot more.   When I opened my eyes and starting drinking the beer while watching the game, it settled into a very nice little beer.

What do you think of Amber Ales in general?  I find them some of the prettiest beers and the genre (not sure if that word works with beer..)  is growing on me.

One Comment Add yours

  1. scottdavey says:

    Very interesting point. I can absolutely attest to the difference between tasting a beer while reviewing versus tasting it almost subconsciously, while otherwise occupied.

    I do like Amber beer. It’s gorgeous to look at – thinking of Gypsy Tears right now. Probably the prettiest beers I’ve ever seen.

    Also, I do believe the word genre is appropriate for beer classifications.

    Like

Leave a Reply

