Nut Brown Ale

on

3.5

Brewery: Amsterdam Brewing Company (Toronto)

Type: Nut Brown Ale

ABV: 5.0%

Review:  Pours almost jet black.  Has a small cream coloured head, it looks like a huge espresso if I’m honest. If this is a brown ale they mean chestnut brown.  Slightly more bubbly than I expected from the colour.  It is medium thick- the head stuck around so I got a nice soft entrance point for most of the time- I like that.

It is smooth and soft, with a huge hazelnut / walnut hit which I couldn’t detect when smelling.  The smell was more of an oat smell.  I could see this as a Christmas evening beer, it’s smooth and decadent, albeit sightly artificial in flavour.  I think the carbonation is a little unsettling.  It’s too active when moving it about the mouth.  Overall a good beer though, but not yet perfected.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. scottdavey says:

    Had this one a long time ago, way before FLL. Wouldn’t mind trying it again!

    Like

  2. Love the artwork on the can! Thanks for writing about it! We don’t get many beers from Canada down here in NYC. Check out my blog if you have the chance! Cheers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

