Octopus Wants to Fight IPA

3

Brewery: Great Lakes Brewery

Type: IPA

ABV: 6.2%

IBU: 88 (!)

Appearance: Head is white and fluffy and has good retention, leaving a bit of lacing as it recedes. It has a slightly cloudy yellow-orange color.

Aroma: GEEZ. I can smell the hops from a meter away – literally! Upon closer inspection, I’m overwhelmed with a fragrant perfume-y hop smell. I do sense a light graininess as well.

Feel: It’s actually quite watery. Very light body and kind of sloshes around like water. The carbonation is appropriate.

Taste: The taste actually seems slightly diluted, as well. I was expecting a huge smash of hops. They’re definitely there but much softer than I was anticipating. They’re also quite nice tasting, albeit simple. All I can detect is the same fragrant perfume from the aroma and that’s about it. It’s a simple IPA – which is mystifying considering there are 8 different varieties of hops and malts. Perhaps it’s overkill and the number of hops and malts are actually just blending into one taste, similar to adding too many colors together. Eventually, no matter how many colors you add, you’ll just have blackish-brown.

As for bitterness, surprisingly, there’s nothing in the first 3-4 sips! Honestly, I can’t taste any at all. That being said, the head actually has a tad of bitterness to it. In addition, the bitterness does accumulate towards the end of the glass and leave a mildly bitter aftertaste. It’s got absolutely nothing on the 80 IBU Fat Tug, though. Yeesh.

Overall: Overall, I’m mixed. I did enjoy it, the hops were actually good and I’m happy there wasn’t much bitterness, but the can really led me to expect more of an intense experience from it. Instead it was diluted and lackluster.

I am going to give it a 3 stars, though, because I still enjoyed it – even if I believe they missed the mark.

I’d like a second opinion on this one, please.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Mike says:

    Interesting! I’ll keep an eye out and pick one up if I can

    Like

Leave a Reply

