Side Launch Dark

3.5

Brewery: Side Launch Brewing Company

Type: Dark Lager

ABV: 5.3%

Appearance / Aroma / Body: Side Launch Dark pours quite nicely, with a light head (note that this was consumed before I learned how to pour a beer properly – no marks deducted for my lack of knowledge). The color is a nice chestnut and it smells like tangy raisins with a hint of malt.

Taste / Feel: Before taking a sip, based on the aroma, I was expecting a darker version of an English ale; a mix of raisin and metal. When I finally took that sip I was taken aback as I actually got this really great roasted malt flavor which was also quite pronounced with the exhale. The body is creamy and there’s very little aftertaste or bitterness.

Other than that, there isn’t much else to say. I would classify this as a solid dark beer but that doesn’t have anything necessarily special about it. No one outstanding feature that could make it memorable. That being said, I would happily have this again.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Mike says:

    I had this beer this week as well. I had the same thought. It was just a smooth drinkable dark lager that I quite enjoyed. I agree with the 3.5

    Like

Leave a Reply

