Hoparazzi Lager

2

Brewery: Parallel 49

Type: Lager

ABV: 6%

IBU: 43

Appearance / Aroma / Body: The appearance of the beer is a bright, citrus orange, with a nice looking head before it quickly disappears. The head seems medium in density and leaves a bit of lacing on the glass.

There isn’t much smell to it – I don’t really detect any hops at all. If anything, I can smell a bit of the malts in there.

Taste / Feel: My first 3 sips didn’t have much going on. There’s no hop flavor to be found here. Not really any malts, either. Just a little bit of bitterness in the aftertaste.

I’ve left it for a bit and come back. I can start to make out some of the hop flavor but it’s still quite watered down to me. The bottle boasts big ‘hoparoma’ and a citrus kick but I can’t say I agree. The after taste is bitter and the body is very light.

Update: I wrote my thoughts in my phone but am now transferring it to the site on my computer. While doing so I wanted to look up the IBU rating and found their description of the beer. They were going for a hybrid between a west coast IPA and a light tasting lager – perhaps it’s a bit too light and with a name like Hoparazzi, I’m disappointed to not really taste much hops.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Mike says:

    So it sounds like it ended up tasting like a Kieths?

    Like

    1. scottdavey says:

      Yes! Absolutely.

      Like

  2. Mike says:

    That’s disappointing.
    You didn’t drink this in the same sitting as the 9% taste explosion by chance, did you? haha
    Ya too bad. Looks like Gypsy Tears was a lucky break. Although this beer *looks* fantastic in the glass.

    Like

    1. scottdavey says:

      I know! It was surely disappointing. I have another one so I’m going to try again but I actually had the first one a couple hours before I had the trappist

      Like

Leave a Reply

