Harbinger

3.5

Brewery: Descendants Beer & Beverage Company

Type: American Pale Ale

ABV: 5.5%

IBU: 38

Appearance / Aroma / Body: Again, wasn’t expecting such a wonderfully golden-amber color from a pale ale, further convincing me that mass produced pale ales alter the color of their beer (that’s the last time I’ll mention this). The body seem light and lively. Not much head to speak of although I’m not sure I’m pouring my beer correctly… I’ll do some research on that.

Smell-wise, it’s … hopping … with a hoppy aroma. If I smell hard enough I can pick out a faint sweet malt scent but I’m really straining to get it.

Taste / Feel: I can definitely taste the hops right away and they persist throughout the entire mouthful. The mouthful ends with bitterness towards the back of my mouth and sticks around for about 30 seconds. For my personal taste, I prefer a bit less bitterness.

There isn’t much more to say. I can’t really pick out that faint malt flavor detected in the aroma and the body is fairly light and clean. I’d say it’s an average pale ale but I’m also not very experienced in this type of beer.

Leave a Reply

