Conductor’s Craft Ale

3.5

Brewery: Junction Craft Brewing

Type: Ale

ABV: 5.3%

IBU: 32

Appearance / Aroma / Body: The first aroma I notice is the hops but as I dig a little deeper I’m able to pick out this sweet, roasted oatmeal smell that’s quite excellent. It pours nicely with a light to medium body and boasts a really nice, deep honey color.

Thoughts: The hops don’t come through quite as much as I was expecting and I love it. Instead, I believe the malt, oatmeal flavors are more prominent and give the beer that added layer of complexity. Apparently there are 5 different malts and 5 different hops – I’m not entirely certain if that’s normal but I’ve assumed it to be more than a typical beer. There is also a slight tinge of bitterness towards the end of the mouthful, though. It sits right beneath everything else and persists for a short time in the aftertaste. In the exhale, I’m actually getting a combination of both the oatmeal and hops, which is a first (with the hop exhale). Usually I get everything except the hops.

Overall, it’s an interesting beer that offers different characteristics than the average ale.

Leave a Reply

