Mongozo

on

1.5

Brewery: Mongozo (Belgium)

Type: Premium Pilsner

ABV: 5.0%

Thoughts: It’s an organic, fair trade, especially brewed to remove gluten (but not gluten free…because for a beer that would be impossible…) — Pilsner.  So basically, I had low expectations.  EXCEPT it was brewed in Belgium, so that’s hopeful.  And THEN I thought about all the good Belgian beers that I’ve had… none of them are pilsners.  So this is strange, i’m back to my low expectations.  Wild ride.

Well any-who.. it tastes like it’s still half fermented and working on it, and yet skunky.  Lots of carbonation to hide it, I think. No head- no character.  There’s no flavour.  It’s not pleasant.  It’s sour- that’s the only attribute I can find for it.  Top 3 worst beers I’ve had.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. scottdavey says:

    I don’t want to get all mushy here but I’m genuinely sorry you had to experience that. Honestly, this has been a fairly disappointing beer day, what with my failure to find Gypsy Tears and learning about your unfortunate experience.

    Please accept my sincerest regrets on your behalf.

    Post Script: Out of curiosity, did you pick that beer thinking it might be good or were you fairly certain it would flop?

    Like

  2. Mike says:

    Definitely expected a flop.

    Like

Leave a Reply

