Anchor Steam

4.5

Brewery: Anchor Brewing Company (San Fran)

Type: Steam Beer (I cannot get an explanation of what this is?)

ABV: 4.9%

Thoughts:  Pours a bright mustard yellow but quickly thickens into a mellow toffee orange colour with a pleasantly spongy head.  It has a semi sweet smell- not overbearing.  It’s lively and bright in my mouth.  Kind of flat, and coats the mouth like a brown ale, there’s a faint bite of bitterness toward the end but it’s been softened by something- I think caramel.  Honestly I can’t think of anything I don’t like about it, it’s a great all purpose beer, and the best I’ve had in a long while at home.  Bite and malty-ness.  Smooth yet lively.  Flavour but poundable.  Very versatile beer.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. scottdavey says:

    Wow!! Quite interesting, indeed! I really want to try this…

    Also, did a bit of research:

    “Anchor Steam® Beer derives its unusual name from the 19th century when “steam” was a nickname for beer brewed on the West Coast of America under primitive conditions and without ice. While the origin of the name remains shrouded in mystery, it likely relates to the original practice of fermenting the beer on San Francisco’s rooftops in a cool climate. In lieu of ice, the foggy night air naturally cooled the fermenting beer, creating steam off the warm open pans.”

    Like

  2. scottdavey says:

    I’ve finally had the opportunity to try this beer – it’s taken me a while to find it. What a masterpiece. I’ve honestly had trouble describing how I feel when I drink it. Relaxing. This beer makes me feel good – like biting into a warm, fresh-out-the-oven, homemade bun. It tastes of high quality and reminds me of a Trappist beer. So complete and balanced, perfect harmony of grainy malts and sweetness, the slightest presence of hops.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Mike says:

    I always love it when we agree!!! So glad you like it

    Like

Leave a Reply

