Abbot Ale

3

Brewery: Greene King

Type: Ale (England)

ABV: 5.0%

Review: A sudsy, pleasant looking foam, on yet quite a flat beer.  And a lovely copper colour. It’s an earthy, caramelly flavour, very smooth in the mouth.  A long lasting flavour, but consistent, doesn’t go bitter once it’s gone.  Perhaps it’s a sweetness to the undertones that keeps it soft and smooth.  It’s pleasant, but not very memorable.  An ale I could drink several of, and enjoy, however, and that isn’t common for me.
3/5 (in reality like a 3.3/5).  This one may grow on me, I might re-purchase.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. scottdavey says:

    We had this one at my place when we first started with the Beer tracking. I also gave it 3 stars but I’m not sure I’ll have it again. I found that it had strong undertones of raisin or copper, which I’m not a big fan of in beer. I think that taste is common with English Ales.

    Like

    1. Mike says:

      You’re right, I remembered beer tasting like this in London. It brought be back there for sure, their ales are all just like this. Totally.

      Like

Leave a Reply

